12 August 2012

Family Gatherings

It has been around 3 weeks that I have announced that I am getting married on the 10th of the November of 2012. I have managed to find and book my wedding dress and talk to the priest and arrange when to do the paperwork for the church. However my parents have hardly talked about it , apart from giving me grief, telling me there is no time to prepare, while in fact they just dont want to do anything about it. They want to host this super lush wedding but somehow they want to do it when they want to do it, and with the rhythms that they want to do it and apparently i dont actually fit in their schedule. So apparently it is to hard to plan and implement a wedding in 3 months time.

My mother wants to buy furniture for the new house and move in there and apparently 3 months are not enough. They need to research the venue for the party after the wedding and book it and somehow for them it seems that 3 months is not enough.

I wonder how much time is enough for them. However, i cannot put in words how much I do not care about their point of view and if they will manage to get everything on time.

Tonight, out of the blue my father gathered his part of the family and had a party.Well , nobody informed me of that. Nobody, i just stumbled, literally stumbled on them. And to top it all, when my mother arriving late saw me there, I could see the look of surprise on her face because she simply wasnt expecting me there.

How sad is that... That they can decide and leave me completely out of the picture but however for my wedding three months in advance is not enough time for them to plan. I would accept it if they didnt have the money for it, but that is not the case.... What can I say. It has reached the point beyond absurdity.

It has reached the point where I just have to be able to stay calm for the next three months and complete this wedding as well as I can make it at least for my side of responsibilities.

And that is the invitations, the church, the wedding and that is all.

21 January 2012

New collections for spring 2012

Lately, I have read many blog posts where beauty bloggers present the new makeup collections for the spring 2012. I do not know whether they are getting paid for this or not and it really does not matter for me at the moment since I do not think that any of these presenting colllections blog posts actually encourages consumer behavior or not.
What bothers me is that for spring apparently pastel colors are in. I do not understand why spring is connected with pastel colors and why on earth, why should I wear really , and I mean really unwearable green and blue pastel shades on eyeshadows, like they did in the 80s, without the strong pigmentation. How on earth can you do a smokey eye with pastel green? and just because you combined it with a black eyeshadow inside the quad, it does not mean it is wearable. In my opinion, it is plain ridiculous. I have yet to see a proposal from a high-end cosmetic company that actually looks good. And I do not mean the photoshopped fake women we see on the ads , I mean a collection that will actually look good on the average looking woman.Because if I look so good, as they do in the pictures HELL i dont need makeup!

In Greece, we are going through an economic crisis. Apparently this spring we will go through a color crisis as well..... man it will make me laugh....

19 November 2009

Makeup Habits

Coming back after a long absence, virtually this is the start of my blog, which I had prepared but didnt have time to actually write in , once it was ready.

Today's subject is about makeup.I am wondering how many of us working women are wearing makeup on a daily basis. I work in a small village and live in a small city in Greece and where I work I dont see any people my age, sad isnt it? but it is just me and old people, who traditionally in Greece, do not wear makeup.I mean even 50year olds dont wear makeup , even when they are going somewhere formal, not on everyday basis.
But that is the old generation. The new generation, I guess we are totally different, but since I do not see anybody my age, I dont have anybody to compare with.

For me,I wear makeup everyday, not because I feel I need to. Quite the opposite. Last week I realised I had a staph infection on my face. Folliculitis. I do not know who to blame, something infected me, my brushes werent clean enough, but there it was and I had some 6 huge spots on my cheek. As soon as I realised what they were, because I did spend 2 weeks thinking it was a common breakout, I went makeup free for 7 days and just used topical antibiotics. Every single person commented on the spots but that was not offensive for me in any way, I mean I really didnt bother.

So I guess , I dont need makeup . I have a huge collection of makeup and part of assuaging my guilt is the notion in my head that at least I use it. So everyday I put on makeup to go to work. If I work evening as well, then I take it off at home and then reapply it. If I want to go out , I take it off at home and reapply it, and finally at night I just take it off. I heard some weird story of a girl sleeping in makeup so she looks good for her husband. My national pride urges me to tell you she is not greek, but I will not reveal the nationality.

To be honest with you, I like myself without makeup and especially the younger you are , I think the best you look without makeup. For me , makeup is a way of making yourself looking polished, somewhat prepared for the outer world, like the job. It is like putting on a uniform for society to let them know that you take yourself seriously or that you think of yourself highly.

If I am wearing red lipstick , I think that people view me as a bit older, as a bit of someone that can be nice but that demands respect. When I am wearing a nude mouth but still am made up, maybe with a smokey eye or some nice blush , I feel people perceive me as someone sophisticated ,yet younger and self assured.

In todays Greek society, young girls are into makeup, a lot, I guess. I do not know how it compares with other countries. I think that Germany is not like that, having lived there for 2 years, but that changes a lot. UK was different when I was there, but I have the feeling that UK is the country where makeup is something completely personal and thus you can do whatever you want with it, no set rules or anything. that is my impression . and please correct me if I am wrong, it has been ages I was there.

And then of course, there is US. THE HEAVEN for makeup , where everything is so cheap and so easy to get. I really want to go to the US. Maybe I will never be able to live there, since I settled here for my life, but a life in the US will always remain a hidden dream for me. If I did live there, though, I would be very poor, since I would buy EVERYTHING.

But back to makeup ....


What do you think about makeup?

What do you think about makeup styles? I am waiting for your comments and your replies..

17 June 2009

various pictures

 blog it

25 February 2009

Welcome!!!!

A very sweet welcome to my blog!!! Whenever I feel the need to ramble, which I often do, I will post thoughts and opinions...


see you around

love and kisses